Monday, May 11, 2009
For Minors in New Jersey, Abortion Easier than Giving Blood
Weekly Trenton Musings
NJ Family Policy Council
Posted May 8, 2009
Wednesday, Governor Corzine signed into law A3580 / S2513, which allows minors who are 16 years of age to donate blood with parental consent. Specifically, the bill states, “Any person of the age of 16 years may donate blood in any voluntary and noncompensatory blood program with the written consent of at least one parent or the person’s legal guardian or other legally responsible adult, as appropriate.” It passed the state legislature with overwhelming support.
Ironically, a 16-year old needs to get consent to donate blood, but in New Jersey, children 16, 15, 14, 13 … and younger … need no such permission to have an abortion. In fact, children don’t even need to tell their parents that they’re having a highly-invasive and potentially dangerous surgical procedure!
In 1999, the New Jersey state legislature passed parental notification legislation, which required a minor either to notify a parent before having an abortion or obtain a court order waiving the requirement that she do so. Note, this law didn’t require parental consent but merely parental notification. In response, the ACLU filed a lawsuit to prevent implementation of the new legislation.
Read more of this disturbing article here.
What does this have to do with homeschooling?
Everything. It is this kind of happy horse manure that responsible parents should be trying to protect their children from.
Homeschooling is a huge commitment, but the fate of one or more of your grandchildren may be decided by legislation like this.
Give blood, give life. Have an abortion, take life. Something is wrong with this picture.